Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Valentine’s Day Treats

Posted on: February 15, 2010

Usually for Valentine’s Day I like to make a red velvet cake or red velvet cupcakes.  This year I decided to try something different.  While I was figuring out what to get my honey I thought he’d also like something sweet.  Since we’re both making an effort to be a bit healthier this year I thought cakes or cookies wouldn’t be the best idea so I decided to try something different–chocolate raspberry truffles and chocolate blackberry truffles.  Since he loves both berries I figured he’d enjoy this treat and the chocolate makes it appropriately decadent for Valentine’s Day.

I started by searching for a good recipe for the truffles.  Luckily, I found one here, but I did make a few changes. Of course the most major change was that I included blackberries as well as raspberries.  Also, instead of coating them in cocoa powder, I opted instead to give each berry an additional coating of just melted chocolate and then I streaked them with white chocolate.  I used a mixture of Valhrona 71% dark and Ghirardelli 60% dark chocolate.  I also had some white chocolate that I used to streak the truffles when I was done.  The results were delicious and decadent!

Another fun treat for Valentine’s Day were Erotic Cookies!  I attended a workshop hosted by Pastry Chef Danielle Moore all about decorating erotic cookies.  Many of the cookies were very adult in nature which made them all the more fun!!  And once they were decorated they really came to life!  I really enjoyed this workshop since it was my first time decorating cookies with fondant.  And of course, yummy cookies are always a great treat!

Leave a comment