Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Completed Wilton Course 2!

Posted on: March 9, 2010

Last week I finished my second Wilton Cake decorating course!  I have to say this time I really did learn a lot!  The focus of this course is more piping work along with piping in royal icing and we made flowers in royal icing.  I’ve never made flowers other than the buttercream roses so this was a challenge to try to keep straight how to make all the different petals for the different flowers and remember their different parts.  Since I’m not too into flowers to being with it was just a challenge remembering what they all looked like.  Of course with a lot of practice, I did eventually get some lovely flowers.  And I’m sure with a LOT more practice I’ll have even nicer flowers! I do have to say that I think piping with royal icing is almost easier since you can get nice edges and peaks where you want them.

We learned how to pipe violets, violet leaves, mums, daisies, pansies, apple blossoms, and I’m sure there’s more I’m forgetting.  We also learned how to make reverse shells, rope borders and how to do a basketweave.  The basketweave was by far the most difficult piping I’ve had to do yet!  However, I do really think it’s a nice look for a cake.  Combining the basketweave with flowers, marzipan fruits or maybe some other Easter/Spring imagery I think the basketweave can make any cake look very sweet and still polished.  My finale cake had a decent basket weave in green.  I chose green because I then added flowers all over the cake and I wanted the green to stand in for any foliage that would be under the flowers.  The cake was an almond paste cake with french vanilla buttercream.

And since the student kit came with 2 pans, I was able to make 2 cakes.  The next cake was also an almond cake with french vanilla buttercream but I decorated it with royal icing flowers and marzipan fruits.  I’m now onto course 3 and the wonderful world of fondant!

Here’s some shots of my cakes! 🙂

My Wilton course 2 finale cake

A sweet spring cake

Leave a Reply

