Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Yay! I’ve completed my Wilton I Course!!

Posted on: January 27, 2010

Once I got to the pastry module in culinary school, I realized I should have done the pastry program instead.  I really love making cakes, cookies and pies for different occasions and decorating them.  I also love making different pastries and even strudel!  But I couldn’t afford to go back for even more school.  So while I’m still in the midst of job-hunting, I figured I’d indulge my creative side and sign up for a Wilton method cake decorating course at my local AC Moore. The nice thing about this course is that it’s a small group led by an instructor who is very knowledgable, encouraging and fun.  Of course the down side is that the course is only two hours once a week, so it feels a bit rushed, even though we do a lot of preparation work at home.   We did manage to get in quite a few different techniques and practiced on two different cakes and a set of cupcakes.  I’ve really liked decorating my cakes with different flowers, leaves and vines since I think it’s just such a beautiful touch on cakes.  I’m looking forward to creating even more beautiful flowers in the next course.  In the meantime, here’s some shots of the work I completed in course one!

Leave a Reply

