Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Kitchen Experiment: Low-Fat & Low-Sugar Pumpkin Muffins

Posted on: January 4, 2010

You know what’s the problem with trying to eat healthier?  It’s that there’s not much room for baked goods!  And unfortunately, those are my favorites.  Don’t get me wrong, I like fried foods just as much as the next person, but if I had to make a choice between having great french fries or having a wonderful piece of cake (or great cookie or pie) I’d hold on the fries and have my dessert every time!  Of course, the best is having both until my jeans become too tight to wear and I find myself wondering what led me down this path.  Since I know I can’t go too long without baking or without indulging in baked goods, I need to find a way to make them a bit healthier, a bit more low-fat and have a tad less sugar.  Since I’ve had a lot of canned pumpkin left over since the holidays, I figured that would be a great way to try to make some delicious low-fat, still delicious, yet nutritious muffins.  I used a recipe from Nick Malgieri’s How to Bake, but with a few changes and I got a light, lovely muffin that is full of the nutritional goodness in pumpkins but with a tad less fat and sugar.  I don’t usually use artificial sweeteners, but I did in this case by using a Splenda-Sugar baking blend and I didn’t miss the sugar at all.  I also used a tad less oil than in the original recipe.  And since I had some pumpkin left over, I may try this again with an egg substitute.  If you’re looking to use up any pumpkin from the holidays, these muffins are a definite winner!

Kitchen Experiment:

Pumpkin Muffins, adapted from How to Bake by Nick Malgieri

Yield: 10 muffins

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 1/4 cup splenda baking blend
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/2 cup milk, with 1 and 1/2 teaspoon white vinegar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 cup canned pumpkin puree
  1. Pre-heat the oven to 375 degrees.  Line a muffin sheet with muffin tins.
  2. In a medium bowl whisk together flour, splenda, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.
  3. In another medium bowl add milk and vinegar.  Let stand for 2-3 minutes until thickened.
  4. In bowl with milk, add egg, vegetable oil and pumpkin puree and whisk thoroughly to combine.
  5. Fold liquids into the flour mixture.  Be careful not to over mix.
  6. Fill muffin cups 3/4 full.  Bake for 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into center of muffin comes out clean.  Cool for 5-10 minutes and serve immediately.

Pumpkin Muffins

Leave a Reply

