Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Kitchen Experiment: Gluten-Free Ginger Sandwich Cookies

Posted on: December 18, 2009

My holiday baking is gearing up and I’m getting more and more excited for Christmas.  Although I’m still unemployed, I’m already much happier than I was last year.  I don’t have a job that makes me miserable.  My family is reasonably healthy.  And I am still able to create some delicious holiday treats!  While I do miss baking for my students like I have done in recent years past, I am looking forward to having more treats to share with my family and friends.

I always make a lot of the same kinds of things.  I love chocolate chip and snickerdoodles, so of course, I make at least one batch of each of these.  I also make and decorate sugar cookies.  Even though the decorating takes a bit of time it’s super festive and lovely!  But I’ve decided to start trying out something different.  Recently, I assisted with a vegan baking class and it got me to thinking about alternative baking.  While I’m not great at coming up with vegan or gluten-free desserts, I think my most recent kitchen experiment definitely fits into the gluten-free category.  If you want to make it vegan, use vegan shortening and vegan marshmallows for the filling.  These cookies also capture some nice flavors of the season with ginger, cinnamon, clove and maple.

Gluten-Free Ginger Sandwich Cookies

Yield: 4 sandwich cookies

  • 200 grams almond meal/almond flour (I weighed this in grams because I wanted to try to be accurate while making these. It should be about 2 cups.)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon finely chopped crystallized ginger
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground clove
  • pinch fine salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon maple sugar
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup marshmallow fluff
  • 1 tablespoon shortening
  • 1/2 teaspoon maple sugar
  • 2 teaspoons maple syrup
  1. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees.  Line a sheet pan with parchment.
  2. In large bowl, combine almond flour, ginger, cinnamon, clove, salt, and maple sugar.
  3. Add maple syrup and mix thoroughly until you form a dough.
  4. Turn out the dough onto a parchment lined surface.  Pat down the dough to form a disk.  Top with another piece of parchment and roll dough out to 1/4 inch thickness.
  5. Use round pastry cutters to cut out cookie rounds and place them on the parchment lined sheet pan.
  6. Bake for 10 minutes, rotating the pan after half the time has elapsed.  Bake until light golden brown.
  7. Meanwhile,  make cookie filling by combining marshmallow fluff, shortening, maple sugar and maple syrup in bowl and whisking vigorously until combined.
  8. To assemble, spread about 1 teaspoon of filling onto a cookie and top with another.

When I first tried the cookie out of the oven, it didn’t have much flavor and I wasn’t a fan of the texture.  However, once I made the sandwiches, I really tasted the ginger, maple and cinnamon in the cookie.  It may not be the best gluten-free cookie out there, but I think it’s pretty good for a first try!

Gluten-Free Ginger Cookies

1 Response to "Kitchen Experiment: Gluten-Free Ginger Sandwich Cookies"

Leave a Reply

