Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Kitchen Experiment: Crazy Mixed-Up Chili

Posted on: December 1, 2009

I regularly read the blog Not Eating Out in New York.  She’s got great tips, good information and of course lovely pictures.  So when I saw that the  Mad Hungry cookbook was up for grabs on Not Eating Out in New York, I decided I should try to submit one of my recent recipes.  I made this about two weeks ago, while I was cleaning up around the house.  I wanted to make something that was spicy, rich and that I didn’t have to keep too close an eye on.  I came up with this recipe for crazy mixed up chili because I made it using  a mixture of different meats I had as well as a variety of seasonings.  While I know there is a lot of debate on whether chili should have beans or not, or whether it should have tomatoes or not and of course, whether it should have any meat other than beef, I think this dish could definitely qualify as a chili since it was chock full of meaty goodness.  The result of all this mixing was a rich and spicy chili that I really liked!  My dad, who usually isn’t into anything spicy, did eat some and said it wasn’t bad.  I’ve yet to try it on my boyfriend, but I’m sure he’d definitely be a fan.  Serve this over a bed of rice for people who aren’t used to all the heat. If you aren’t a fan of all this heat, use fewer habañeros or use a jalapeño pepper instead.  Otherwise, a topping of cheddar cheese and some chips on the side serve as a nice accompaniment.

Crazy Mixed-Up Chili

Yield:  6  to 8 servings

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound dry beans
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 3 pork chops, center-cut, bone removed and sliced
  • 3 or 4 chorizo links, removed from casings
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 1/2 yellow onion
  • 2 teaspoons garlic, minced
  • 1 can beer, use a light colored beer, like Corona
  • 2 or 3 dried habañero peppers, seeds removed and chopped
  • 2 teaspoons cumin
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon paprika
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 teaspoon garlic paste
  • 1/2 cooked chicken, shredded
  • 1 (28 ounce) can whole tomatoes
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato juice
  • salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (optional)
  • tortilla chips (optional)
  1. In a large pot, add beans and boil until tender, about 30 minutes.  In a large dutch oven, or other heavy-bottomed pot, add 1 tablespoon canola oil. Add sliced pork chops and chorizo, and cook until browned.
  2. Add bell pepper, onion, garlic.  Cook until soft, about 5 to 6 minutes.
  3. Add beer and use wooden spoon to scrape up any bits on the bottom of the pot.  Add habañero peppers, cumin, chili powder, bay leaf, and garlic paste. Cook until peppers have softened a bit about 4 to 5 minutes.
  4. Add chicken, canned tomatoes, and tomato juice.  Cover and allow to simmer for 45 minutes to one hour.  Season with salt and pepper.
  5. To serve, ladle into a heated bowl and top with shredded cheddar cheese.  Serve tortilla chips on the side.
2 Responses to "Kitchen Experiment: Crazy Mixed-Up Chili"

What a fun recipe – everything in there but the kitchen sink (which if you braise can be quite tasty, I am told!).

I love cooking like this. It’s inspired and flexible and makes for incredibly hearty food.

Cheers!

Thanks! It was a total experiment, meant to use a bunch of things I had on hand. Luckily, it was very tasty and hearty! 🙂

Leave a Reply

