Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

My First Ever Apple Cake!

Posted on: November 22, 2009

A few weeks ago, I went apple picking with my boyfriend.  Of course, I decided to try a bunch of apple recipes so that I can find a way to use all 18 pounds of apples I had!  (I also had apples as snacks a LOT!)  I made apple-cranberry butter, I made an apple-cranberry galette, and I made apple cake!  I know apple cake is a popular thing, but I have to admit, I’ve never heard of it or even made it until recently.  I really thought cooked apples were only common components in pies or in turnovers.  I was glad to see I could try something new with the apples and that it was easy to make!

Apple Cake, Adapted from the 1975 edition of The Joy of Cooking

Ingredients:

  • 5 to 6 cups pared, cored and sliced tart apples (I used 8 medium sized apples.)
  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • zest and juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 8 beaten egg yolks
  • 8 egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup dry breadcrumbs
  • 3/4 cup shredded, blanched almonds, divided
  • 1 standard angel food cake pan
  1. In a large pan over medium high heat, add butter and melt.  Add apples and cook until tender.  Do not allow apples to brown. Turn heat down to low.
  2. In a large bowl, combine sour cream, lemon juice, lemon zest, sugar, flour, egg yolks and 1/3 cup almonds.   Pour the contents of the bowl over the cooked apples and stir over low heat, until mixture has thickened.  Cool mixture.
  3. Pre-heat oven to 325 degrees. Grease the angel food cake pan and line with flour.
  4. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or another large bowl if using a hand-held mixer, add egg whites and beat until stiff peaks form.
  5. Fold egg whites into the apple mixture. In small bowl, combine sugar, cinnamon, bread crumbs, and remaining almonds.
  6. Pour apple mixture into cake pan. Sprinkle with sugar mixture.
  7. Bake 45 minutes or until firm.  Serve cold with whipped cream of vanilla ice cream.

The cake was pretty & not too sweet! I loved the cinnamon on top and the almonds added great texture.  I thought the recipe was a bit odd, but I’m glad it worked.  Unfortunately, it seemed to deflate a bit when I took it out.  I know the leavening depended on the meringue, but it was sad to see it lose its height.  Anyone know how I can fix this?  Either way, I think this one is definitely a keeper!

Apple cake fresh out of the oven!

Apple cake unmolded

2 Responses to "My First Ever Apple Cake!"

This my family’s treasured apple cake recipe from my grandma:
http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/08/20/grandmas-slab-apple-cake/

Thanks Michael! I’ll definitely try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

