Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Graduation!! Yay!!!

Posted on: September 21, 2009

I’m not one for ceremonies.  I hated every graduation ceremony I had to attend, every religious ceremony (except for baptism, cuz well, I was a baby) and I wasn’t even excited about my high school prom.  So when I heard about my culinary school having a graduation ceremony where we were supposed to cook all the food and basically put on an event for our guests, I really wasn’t happy.  For a while I figured I’d just do my part and cook but then just leave for the actual event.  Then a friend of mine pointed out that it would be stupid to spend a class period of 4 hours and an entire full day preparing for this event only to just leave.  *sigh* Of course, I ended up spending hours preparing and then I ended up spending a few hours at the event.  We were presented with a Larousse Gastronomique and a chef’s hat!  We also had quite a nice spread, I must say.  I don’t remember what all the food was, but it was all very good.   Here’s some shots of the event.

DSCF7242

DSCF7244

DSCF7246

Pie lollipops and Baklava

Pie lollipops and Baklava

Chocolate profiterols and espresso panna cotta

Chocolate profiterols and espresso panna cotta

Fresh Sushi!!

Fresh Sushi!!

Me & my dad.  He was a good sport and tried everything!

Me & my dad. He was a good sport and tried everything!

Two of my chef instructors.  I didn't get to know Chef Sabrina very well as we were with her such a short time.  However, I felt like I kept pestering Chef Kathryn since she was willing to answer all my pastry questions!

Two of my chef instructors. I didn't get to know Chef Sabrina very well as we were with her such a short time. However, I felt like I kept pestering Chef Kathryn since she was willing to answer all my pastry questions!

Receiving my Larousse and chef's hat.

Receiving my Larousse and chef's hat.

Happy Graduates!

Happy Graduates!

My mom & me.  She brought back a nice doggie back for later!

My mom & me. She brought back a nice doggie back for later!

Janet & I in our full chef's gear

Janet & I in our full chef's gear

DSCF7319

Finally relaxing with my boyfriend!

Finally relaxing with my boyfriend!

It was a LONG day and for once, I was glad I attended one graduation ceremony.

1 Response to "Graduation!! Yay!!!"

Hey, I found your blog while searching on Google your post looks very interesting for me. I will add a backlink and bookmark your site. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

