Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Learning All About Hors d’Oeuvres

Posted on: September 15, 2009

As my culinary school experience comes to an end, I feel like they’re just trying to get in whatever odds & ends we didn’t do along the way.  We made menus from different contemporary master chefs from Mario Batali (who had really great food!) to Rick Bayless to Thomas Keller.  We then moved on to market basket cooking & our practical.  After that, we made hors ‘d oeuvres, sausages, forcemeats & terrines.  As much as I love good sausage, I really HATED making it.  It was rather disgusting to see the ground meat come out of the grinder and to stuff the sausage casings.  I may try making sausage again, but for now, I think I’m done.

As if I weren’t disgusted by sausages enough, we had to then make forcemeats & terrines.  Basically a forcemeat is an emulsion of meat and fat.  This preparation is often placed in a mold, usually a terrine, and baked.  If it is baked with a dough, it is called “en croute”.  I liked making the dough, but that was about it.  Although I understand how and why this particular food evolved, I am really glad this isn’t very popular today.  And honestly, I really don’t like any kind of pate since the first time I ate it, I threw up. This was years ago, but I never got over it.

I do have to admit though I rather enjoyed the different hors d’oeuvres.  These are small preparations, usually about two bites.  We made such a variety including yakitori, chicken satay, beef satay, different spring rolls, shao mai and other fun things.  I did miss one day of hors d’oeuvres  which was just after labor day  so I didn’t get everything however, I did enjoy the bit I did get.  Ending class by eating a bit of each thing was probably one of the best meals I had as a culinary student too!  It’s always great to get to eat a little bti of everything.  Of course though, I wish I had some dessert.  Anyway, check out the spread!

Chicken and Beef Satay

Beef Satay

Coconut Rock Shrimp

Coconut Rock Shrimp

Crab cake boats

Crab cake boats

Mushroom Duxelle and Fois Gras Palmier

Mushroom Duxelle and Fois Gras Palmier

Buckwheat Blini with Creme Fraiche and Caviar

Buckwheat Blini with Creme Fraiche and Caviar

Goat Cheese Mousse with Beet Quenelles

Goat Cheese Mousse with Beet Quenelles

These were really the things I liked the best!  I’m glad there are some things that I’m liking in this final course.

1 Response to "Learning All About Hors d’Oeuvres"

YUM! love hors d’oeuvres! good stuff – very nice presentation!

Leave a Reply

