Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

The Supper Club

Posted on: September 8, 2009

supperclubI know the idea of a supper club isn’t new, but I was surprised to learn how many of these are springing up all over.  I recently found out about The Whisk and Ladle right in Brooklyn and I’m sure there are more.  The idea behind this types of clubs is great:  a small group of chefs (or excellent home cooks) getting together to host a reasonably priced multi course dinner.  The menus usually feature local foods and can feature a new interpretation of a classic dish or  completely new dishes. With many people foregoing dining at elaborate restaurants due to the current economic climate, this can be a great way to have a wonderful dining experience at a fraction of the cost.  It can also be a great way to meet new people or to just reconnect with friends.

As I’m finishing up culinary school in about 2 weeks, (eep!) I find that I’m now part of a whole new world of people who really love food and know quite a bit about it.  I know I have a lot more to learn, but I also know I won’t learn more without diving in, head-first into all that the food world has to offer.  While I’m excited to start my externship at a magazine, writing about great food and recipe testing, I really still want to keep my hands sharp and active in the kitchen.  Maybe a supper club is the answer?  Or maybe I just need to find a part-time job doing pastry work?  After all, the best part of a meal to make and to eat is always dessert!

Leave a Reply

