Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Kitchen Experiment: Pear Cherry Pie

Posted on: July 31, 2009

Since we learned how to make different doughs in class I’ve been inspired and decided I should try and practice at home. The ingredients for the doughs are fairly straightforward, the only issue has been the fact that it’s been rather warm and humid.  Last weekend I made a cherry pie using this method and I was successful.  I decided to try again with some lovely pears I found in my local market.  I made the dough and placed it in my refrigerator to rest.   I then peeled, cored and chopped my pears.  I added cornstarch, sugar and some seasonings.  I then thought it might be nice to add something in there for some crunch, so I reached into my cabinet for some sliced almonds.  I added them to the bowl with the fruit and I soon saw little, teeny things crawling.  Without realizing it, some bugs have made a home out of that almond bag!!  I had to throw the whole thing out and start all over.  This time though, I didn’t have as many pears, so I used some leftover cherries I had from the cherry pie.  The result was a nice pie with a flaky crust,  just the right amount of filling and a nice contrast of textures between the pears and the cherries.  Who knew you could make a good pie just out of different fruits around the house?

Here’s how I made my pie dough.

1 recipe of pate brisee:

1 pound of AP flour

1/2 pound cake flour

1 pound butter, cold

1 tsp salt

6 oz cold water

1.  Mix the flour, salt, cake flour in a bowl and combine.

2.  Cut the butter into cubes.

3.  Place the butter in with the dry ingredients and break it up with your hands until you have cranberry sized pieces.

4.  Once the butter is incorporated, add the water and mix until the dough comes together.  It should be very shaggy and it may seem like it needs more water but it won’t.

5. Once it has come together somewhat, turn it out onto your work surface and use a bench scraper to help combine the dough even more.  Once it is all one mass, shape it into a disc, wrap and store in your refrigerator to rest.  You should still see pieces of butter in your dough.  If your butter feels like it’s melting, stop working with it and put it in the refrigerator for the butter to harden again.

Fruit:

4 pears, peeled, cored and chopped

approximately 12 cherries, stems and pits removed

1/2 cup sugar

2 T cornstarch

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/8 tsp salt (pinch)

juice of 1/2 lemon

1 egg beaten with 1 T water

raw sugar, for sprinkling (optional)

To make pie:

1. Peel, core, and half pears into a bowl.

2. Remove the pits from the cherries and halve them.

3.  Add sugar, cornstarch, lemon juice, salt and vanilla extract.  Mix to combine and reserve. Pre-heat your oven to 450F.

4. Once your dough has rested 30 minutes, take it out of the refrigerator and divide it in half.  Roll half the dough into a disk shape large enough to cover a 9″ pie dish and place it in the pie dish. If it’s warm in your kitchen you may want to keep your dough you are not working with in the refrigerator.

5.  Place your filling into the pie dough, leaving the juices in the bowl.

6.  Roll out the rest of the dough into another disk shape.

7.  Top the pie with the remaining piece of dough and crip the edges.

8. Cut a vent in the top of the pie and brush with the beaten egg.  If you like, sprinkle some raw sugar on top.  I like to use Demarara sugar.

Here’s some shots of my lovely pie!

Pear-Cherry Pie before baking...

Pear-Cherry Pie before baking...

Pear-Cherry pie fresh out of the oven!

Pear-Cherry pie fresh out of the oven!

1 Response to "Kitchen Experiment: Pear Cherry Pie"

This looks really yummy!!! I can’t wait to try it!

Leave a Reply

