Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Baking as Reward

Posted on: April 8, 2009

Now that my exams are over and I’ve got a few days off, I’m able to relax a bit.  I slept in, read a bit, watched some tv, worked on some knitting and of course, tried some new baking recipes!

The first thing I worked on were these puff pastry rolls.  Well, I don’t know if they’re really rolls or not, but I did roll the pastry so I’ll call them that.  I used a recipe I found here.  I made two varieites of these treats:  one with guava paste and one with blackberry preserves. The challenge with these was figuring out the right amount of filling to use.  My first attempt were over-filled.  I also cut them too thin, so I got a bit of a mess.

p4080015

They were still tasty, but messy and I know they weren’t done right.  I tried again with the blackberry preserves starting with a thin layer.

p4080018

Then I brushed them with egg wash and put them in the oven.

p4080022

They were still messy, but not as bad.  I tried again with the guava paste. And I think I finally got it!

p4080024

I managed to get that pretty heart like shape of jam within the lovely puff pastry!

p4080025

These were fnished with a healthy sprinkly of powered sugar.

p4080028

I also made some rainbow cookies.  I used a recipe from Smitten Kitchen.  The really challenging part was layering the cakes.  When I tried to put one cake on top of the other, the cake broke.  I couldn’t transfer it effectively.  I just pieced it together and covered it with the preserves.  Even if they weren’t put together as well as they should have been, these were definitely much better than any version I’ve had from a store or bakery!  This is definitely worth a try!  Here’s some shots of my final product.

p4080029

p4080030

This was definitely a great way to start my mini-break from school! 🙂

2 Responses to "Baking as Reward"

Hmmmmm…those looked yummy! I will definitely try to make the puff pastry.

Thanks for checking out my recipe and linking to me. 🙂 It took me a while to figure out the thickness and quantity of jam. Yours look great, looks like you got the hang of it a lot sooner than I did.

Leave a Reply

