Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Spending My Weekend Like a Student

Posted on: April 5, 2009

lordsavemeAfter several intense classes on sauces, we have reached the end of the first of the six modules of culinary school.  While I thought things started off nice and slowly, they picked up very fast!  Knife skills, butchering and sauces are all challenging!  Next week, I will really feel like a student since we have our written and final practical exams.

True to form, I left everything to the last minute.  I did make a review sheet of the concepts/ideas/terms chef wanted us to know for the written, but it’s not complete.  I should get to that sooner rather than later, since the written is tomorrow.

As for the practical, there are three things I will have to do:  chop medium dice potatoes, make mayonnaise, and make cream of broccoli soup.  I did make my recipe cards, but so far, I’ve only made the mayo.  That was fine.  I still should try to make the soup, even if I am using store-bought items, like chicken stock, to make it.  And I should really, really get to the chopping!  That’s been the worst for me since I’ve had difficulty keeping my knife straight enough to make straight edges or even to ensure I’m maintaining 90 degree angles.  I also have had the misfortune of regularly cutting myself.

My waterstone is soaking as I write this, so that I’ll be sure to have super sharp knives.  I’m also about to go to the market so I can spend my Sunday night making some soup.  I only hope I can recreate my successes in my classroom kitchen and get a high score on my exam!  Pray for me!

1 Response to "Spending My Weekend Like a Student"

[…] Spending My Weekend Like a Student ? Savoriesnsweets? Blog By savoriesnsweets After several intense classes on sauces, we have reached the end of the first of the six modules of culinary school. While I thought things started off nice and slowly, they picked up very fast! Knife skills, butchering and sauces are … Savoriesnsweets' Blog – https://savoriesnsweets.wordpress.com/ […]

Leave a Reply

