Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Saturday Baking

Posted on: March 21, 2009

Since I do love baking, I spent my Saturday working on a few different things.  Of course, I made fresh bread for the next few days.  I made two loaves of the no-knead bread.  I think I’ve got this recipe down and I’m beginning to feel like maybe next time I’ll try something different…maybe…

I also tried a recipe for biscuits.  During the week I attended a food demo at school that was run by Nancy Olson from Grammercy Tavern. I hate to say that I’ve never been there and I only heard of it recently, but once I do have some time I want to go and check it out.  Chef Olson is the pastry chef there and she made some utterly fabulous desserts that she makes at the restaurant.  The first thing we had were bacon cheddar biscuits.  These treats were absolutely delectable with some crunch from the bacon while still very fluffy and creamy.  Next she showed us how to make chocolate pudding.  This seemed so simple I really wondered why anyone would want the stuff from the box!  It was also delicious! It was served with a simple caramel sauce topped with a pinch of salt and vanilla whipped cream.  The final dessert was a peanut butter semi freddo.  Since the peanut butter salmonella scare, she has started to make her own peanut butter in the restaurant and created this wonderful dessert.  It was rich, creamy, and not overly sweet!  I LOVED it all and since she was gracious enough to give us all the recipes, I had to try to recreate the bacon cheddar biscuits for breakfast today! My attempt wasn’t as good as hers, but it was still pretty darn close!  Have a look at my first ever bacon cheddar biscuits.

bacon cheddar biscuits

bacon cheddar biscuits

I was amazed how easy they were to make.  And they still were fluffy on the inside, a bit crispy outside and had a great flavor.  I did however scale down the recipe and made the biscuits bigger than the ones I tried at the demo, so perhaps that could account for the slight difference.

I then started on some coconut macaroons.  I got the recipe from Joy of Baking. They were a very nice treat!   The macaroons were crisp on the outside, not too sweet, great coconut flavor and moist inside.  I’ve never made macaroons before but now I can see why so many people like them!  Here’s some shots of my macaroons.

My first ever coconut macaroons

My first ever coconut macaroons

I also made some small, round cookies that are called Melting Moments.  I also got this from the Joy of Baking website.  When I saw the picture, I thought they were adorable all lined up and looking like they had just a light dusting of snow.  They were easy to make and when I tried one, it was firm to the bite, but melted in my mouth.  The name said it all.  Here’s a shot of some melting moments.

Melting Moments

Melting Moments

This was a great weekend for baking firsts.  Now, I have to get back to some class reading.

Leave a Reply

