Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

Taking It Back to the ’70’s!

Posted on: March 6, 2009

Yup, tonight was a total retro night. I made tuna noodle casserole for dinner and my boyfriend and I watched The Neverending Story on DVD.  To end the night on a sweet note, I made banana splits with our favorite Ben & Jerry’s or Haagen Daz ice cream, Nutella and fresh whipped cream.

The recipe for the tuna noode casserole came from this website.  I did make a few adjustments to the recipe.  I used half a package of noodles, 2 cans of tuna, and I doubled the cheese sauce.  The result, was cheesy, moist, creamy and filling.  It was actually a really good dish!  I’ve never had it before and I had only noticed people eating it on retro tv shows like All in the Family or That 70’s Show.  Anyway, here are the steps I took to make this yummy meal and the dessert that followed.

These are the ingredients for the dish.  I did also add some salt and pepper, to taste, and some grated Parmesan cheese at the end, which are not in the photo.

Ingredients

Ingredients

I then started making my sauce by melting my butter and whisking some flour in the melted butter. Once the flour was incorporated, I added the milk and whisked until it got thick. I don’t know yet if this is the beginning of a Bechamel sauce, but it seemed like it could be.

Sauce

Sauce

Once the sauce got thick, I added my shredded cheddar cheese. I whisked the cheese in until it melted and incorporated into the sauce.

Sauce with Cheese

Sauce with Cheese

After that melted, I added canned tuna and green peas to the mixture and then stirred until they were well incorporated.  Once the everything was incorporated, I added salt and pepper to taste.

Finished sauce

Finished sauce

Once the sauce was finished, I mixed it with the noodles that I cooked in a separate pot.  I topped the mixture with grated parmesan cheese and dots of butter so that it would develop a crust.  I then baked it in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees.

Casserole Before Baking

Casserole Before Baking

The end result was crusty, creamy, yummy and delicious.

Finished Casserole

Finished Casserole

And on my plate….

Plated Tuna Noodle Casserole

Plated Tuna Noodle Casserole

The meal was accompanied by a bottle of Cotes du Rhone wine.  And for dessert….Banana Splits!!

Chocolate Fudge Brownie topped with Nutella and whipped cream.

Chocolate Fudge Brownie topped with Nutella and whipped cream.

Bailey's ice cream with Nutella and whipped cream

Bailey's ice cream with Nutella and whipped cream

Leave a Reply

