Savoriesnsweets’ Blog

My Attempt at Cassoulet

Posted on: February 24, 2009

As usual, I’ve drawn inspiration to cook after hearing someone talk about a dish I’ve never had before.  I was watching a talk show and the guest was talking about making Cassoulet.  This dish basically seems to be some beans slow cooked in the fat of some meats.  You can also add some other vegetables and a cooking liquid.  During this attempt, I am basically using things I have around the house as  I’m hungry and not interested in a trip to the market in the middle of the day.

Here are my ingredients:

half package of maple bacon

3 links of polish kielbasa

3 cups of red beans (Use dry beans that you have soaked for a while before.)

1/2 cup of red onion, chopped

5 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 bay leaves

a bunch of parsley tied together

1/3 cup of cognac

1 28ounce can of crushed tomatoes

2 tsps of salt

3 tsps of cumin

2 tsps of garlic powder

2 tsps of onion powder

My method

1.  Cut the bacon into cubes. Cut the sausage lengthwise in half and then cut them into half-circles.

2.  Cook the bacon and sausage until brown.

3.  Add the cognac and let the alcohol cook off.  Use your large kitchen spoon to scrape up any bits that have stuck to the bottom of the pot.

4.  Add your soaked beans.

5.  Add the tomatoes.  Fill the can with water and add that to the pot too.

6. Add the onion, garlic, bay leaf, parsley, cumin, salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder.

7.  Bring it all to a boil.

Here is my mixture all boiling together.

Cassoulet on the stove

Cassoulet on the stove

8. Once it is all boiling, cover the pot and put it in the oven at 350 degrees for an hour.

Here is my cassoulet after it’s out of the oven.

Cassoulet out of the oven

Cassoulet out of the oven

I then placed a nice serving on an oven-safe dish and topped it with a mixture of grated parmesan cheese, breadcrumbs and a few dabs of butter.  I put them in the oven to brown and form a nice crust.  Here’s the final product.

Finished Cassoulet

Finished Cassoulet

This dish is hearty, smoky, and delicious!  The crust adds a nice variation in texture and the maple flavor of the bacon adds some sweetness to the dish!  I think I’m going to try this one again! yum! 🙂

Leave a Reply

